This course will be taught as a directed study,
See Kevin or registrar's office for form. first class, Wednesday, Jan. 20, 12:00
(after Marine Geology class)
call or email Kevin if you can't attend.
we will then plan on convenient meeting time.
tentative time - 12:00-12:50 each MWF

http://www.umpi.maine.edu/~mccartnk/sensm10.htm

Genius is one percent inspiration
and ninety-nine percent perspiration.

- Thomas A. Edison

When you steal from one author, its plagiarism;
if you steal from many, it's research.

- Wilson Mizner

Directed Independent Study (DIS): Micropaleontologic research of deep-ocean sediments (Spring, 2010)

This DIS fills requirements for Env 489 (Environmental Studies Senior Seminar): A seminar course for Environmental Studies seniors. Students make written and oral presentations on research topics. Emphasis is placed on the student's ability to find, obtain, review, analyze, evaluate, and present available information in a written report and an oral presentation.

Lecture: Time, to be decided. Folsom 302

Instructor: Kevin McCartney (office: 302 Folsum, hours: most MWF 10:00-10:45 and many other times)

office phone 768-9482; home phone 492-4766
email: kevin.mccartney@umpi.edu


Grading

No late papers accepted: deadline.
Papers may be passed by your instructor on to external reviewers for comment.
It is highly recommended that oral presentations be done with Power Point.
Final course grade is based on:
Oral presentation 40%
Paper 60%

PowerPoint Tutorial 1

Power Point Tutorial 2


Tentative Schedule (Spring, 2010) Meeting time, Mar. 5-9: Written draft (as detailed outline?) dueNO EXTENSIONS!
I Selection and Research of Topic
Jan. 19-22 Introduction to DIS, requests for reprints
Decide on regular meeting time.
Jan. 25-29 Intro to micropaleontology, silicoflagellates, literature
Feb. 1-5 Publication process, citations
F. 8-12 Sample preparation
F. 15-19 February break
F. 22-26 Microscopy
Mar. 1-5 Specimen identification, data collection
II Writing a Research Paper
M. 8-12 Assembly of data, table construction
M. 15-19 continuation, selection of genus for paper
Mar. 22-26 Is it Spring yet? Break
Writing ODP paper
M. 29 - A. 2 Continuation, Geological Society of Maine meeting?
A. 5-9 Power Point presentation
A. 12-16 Presentation of early results at University Day
A. 19-23 Further refinment of paper and oral presentations
A. 26-30 continued
May 3-7 formal oral presentations
Hand in final paper
Important Dates
Meeting time, 1st week of February: Topic Decided
Week of Apr. 7-11 : Students decide and make arrangements for time and place of final presentation; also projector, coffee/munchies (?), advertising and invitation list.
Week of Apr. 14-28 : Final abstract due, to be used on fliers
April 25 : Paper submitted
Last week of classes : Oral Presentations

Personel Resources: people you might contact for advice or information

University Faculty / Staff

Stuart Gelder, Ph.D.: gelder@polaris.umpi.maine.edu
Andrea Gorman, Ph.D.: gorman@polaris.umpi.maine.edu
Michael Knopp, Ph.D.: knoppm@polaris.umpi.maine.edu
Charlton Loder: loder@polaris.umpi.maine.edu (retired, but still available)
Dave Putnam: putnamd@polaris.umpi.maine.edu
Kevin McCartney, Ph.D: mccartnk@polaris.umpi.maine.edu
Robert Pinette, Ph.D.: pinette@polaris.umpi.maine.edu
Chunzeng Wang, Ph.D.: chunzeng.wang@maine.edu
Bonnie Wood, Ph.D.: wood@polaris.umpi.maine.edu

Course alumni, now employed professionally

David Cassidy, construction supervisor, dcassi52@ainop.com
Sherry Churchill, graduate student, desertification, schurchill@hcpcme.org,sahara2266@hotmail.com
Fred Corey, project supervisor, Maine Mic Macs, 2123610@mcimail.com
Dan Kurpaska, city water service, Daniel.Kurpaska@state.ma.us
Kirk Lurvey, Glacial Geology, now teaching on Mount Desert Island, claudine.lurvey@mdibl.org
Dan Lavasseur, Huber Wood Products, wpdel@huber.com
Kelly MacDonald, bens_wolf@hotmail.com
Dave Macek, ecologist, Maine Mic Macs, dmacek@ainop.com
Heidi Nelson, soil conservationist , Machias, hnelson@me.nrcs.usda.gov
Chris Power, cpower35@hotmail.com
Susan Peterson, sue_up_north@hotmail.com
Tracy Reed, tjreed10@hotmail.com
Troy Smith, Bureau of Remediation, Augusta Troy.T.Smith@state.me.us
Maggie Watson

Possible Professional Contacts in Maine:

Fred Beck, Economic Geologist, fmbeck@fmbeck.net
Paul Blood, Geologist, Bureau of Oil and Hazardous Materials Control, DEP, Bangor, paul.s.blood@state.me.us
Dirk Brunner, Principal Engineer, Harding Lawson Associates, Portland, dbrunner@harding.com
Elizabeth Champeon, Senior Geologist, S.W.Cole Engineering, Inc., Bangor, lchampeon@aol.com
Julia Daly, Assist. Prof., University of Maine at Farmington, dalyj@maine.edu
Chris Dorion, Consulting Geologist, C.C. Dorion Geological Services, Orono, cdorion@bangornews.infi.net
Noel Currie, Water Testing and Analysis, Presque Isle, atclabs@ainop.com
Tom Eastler, Prof. of Geology, University of Maine at Farmington, eastler@maine.edu
Ed Laine, Ph.D., Ass. Prof. of Environmental Geology, Bowdoin, Brunswick, edlaine@polar.bowdoin.edu
Dana Humphrey, Ph.D., waste disposal, Prof. of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Orono, dana.humphrey@umit.maine.edu
Bruce Hunter, Geologist, Department of Environmental Protection, Augusta, bruce.e.hunter@state.me.us
Alison Jones-Lemire, hydrogeologist, Acadia Environmental, Portland, alisonj6676@aol.com
Steve Kahl, Geochemist, Orono, KAHL@MAINE.MAINE.EDU
Joe Kelley, Coastal Geologist, jtkelley@maine.maine.edu
John Peckenham, Environmental Geologist, Orono, sgab@aol.com
Doug Reusch, Assist. Prof., University of Maine at Farmington, reusch@maine.edu
Stewart K. Sandberg, Ph.D., geophysics technology, stewart@geophysicalsolutions.com


Return to Kevin McCartney's Homepage